Barriera Garibaldi

DSC_1833.

The Barriera Garibaldi was a passage through the Leopoldine city wall on the main road from Livorno to Pisa. There were several barrieras around the city, perhaps this was the least grand of them, I’m not sure. I am quite fond of and intrigued by this area, so I thought I’d give you a quick tour to see some beautiful architechture. Sadly in decay.

.

DSC_1826.

One of the two identical barriera buildings. Although it may look abandoned, this one houses a kindergarten. To the far right you see a tiny bit of the city wall.

.

DSC_1827.

There are lots of lovely details to see for those who look. I particularly like these diagonal square tiled walls.

.

DSC_1810.

This building is attached to the barriera and to the city wall.

.

DSC_1819.

It used to be a public bath.

.

DSC_1813.

I wonder what will happen to it now. I’ll let the photos speak for themselves, I hope you can see the beauty in the details also in this sad state of neglect.

.

DSC_1821.

.

.

DSC_1811.

.

.

DSC_1820.

.

.

DSC_1828.

.

.

bing.

I searched for an old photo showing how the Barriera Garibaldi is connected to the remains of the Leopoldine city walls but couldn’t find one so an aerial view borrowed from Bing will have to do.

.

DSC_1832.

A simple market in the piazza. I doubt any cruise ship tourists ever come here.

.

DSC_1836.

In these quarters you meet Livornese people only. And they might approach you. At least if you walk around with a big camera!

.

DSC_1835.

People in the street often ask what I am photographing. No exception in this piazza. I especially want to remember the man in blue. He didn’t want me to take a picture of him because he was “old and ugly”, but we had a lovely chat and he shook my hand several times, happy that I was photographing his city. When he heard my plans for an exhibition about Livorno in Stockholm he got all excited and pinched me softly in the cheek, like one does with children! Then he wished me Buon lavoro, waved and fired off his toothless smile once again and only when I got home I realised I actually got a photo of him, taken before our chat.

I love the Livornese. How can one not?

.

2 comments on “Barriera Garibaldi

  1. mural says:

    Alltid lika spännande med rester av förskansningar.

What do you think?

