Mercato del Pesce

DSC_0096

.

I have taken quite a shine to this eccentric concrete building. As I’ve talked to people about it, it seems most don’t share my love at all.
OK, I may not be a great béton brut fan, but this is different. It’s all about the curves…

.

DSC_0090

.

And the shadows, as this fire ladder at the back gable. Love it!

.

DSC_0343

.

This is the Mercato del pesce, the fish market, built in the 1960’s. Looking a bit faded, I agree… But so architecturally appealing.

.

DSC_0076

.

Seagulls expectantly hover above the building all day, although the market is only open during the early hours of the day…

.

DSC_0109

.

Fosso Venezia with the fish market in front of the Fortezza Vecchia and the medieval Matilda’s Keep.

.

10 comments on “Mercato del Pesce

  1. en som hänger med says:

    Det var annat än Fêskekôrka det! Första bilden liknar en skateboardramp.

    (Jaha – nu har jag hittat hit. Snygg vinjettbild.)

    • CS says:

      Tack! Ja, det är en riktigt spejsad byggnad, riktigt abstrakt i många vinklar. Undrar om nån våghalsing har testat att skejta på taket…

  2. Dina says:

    We the readers can never see too many photos of Livorno. Bring them on!

  3. CS, I can see all the photos in your previous posts on this new blogsite except for this most recent batch. I am using Google Chrome as my browser. I wish the photos were visible….would love to see more of Livorno.
    😦

    • CS says:

      I don’t know what happened, suddenly these photos were gone… I have uploaded them again and hope the problem is solved and won’t come back!🙂

  4. Martin says:

    I agree. I found the modern (ish) sweeping roof form (almost Nervi) a great contrast to the traditional roofs scapes but did not have time to find out what it was, or get inside.Thanks.

What do you think?

