Devastating beauty

DSC_0481

.

Well, I told you something very special was going to happen while I was in Livorno this time. And this is it!

.

DSC_0428

.

I was, almost miraculously, granted access to photograph the Acque della Salute, which I wrote about here. It is the most unique, utterly beautiful thermal bath complex in elaborate Art Nouveau style, now sadly in ruins.

.

DSCF1677.

I hope you can see some of what I saw, walking around with very mixed emotions. Outbursts of joy over such beauty and ornamental pleasure – and tears over the seemingly hopeless decay and devastation.

More photos later.

.

2 comments on “Devastating beauty

  1. badglad detaljintresserad says:

    Ojojoj – du kom in!
    Ser fram emot mer därifrån.

What do you think?

