Eight out of a thousand

DSC_0317

.

Back in Florence again, before I crash into bed I want to share just a few of all my impressions from Livorno. Here are eight of at least a thousand photos. Good grief, what will I do with them all? First the Terrazza Mascagni, the gorgeous beach promenade with something for everybody. For me: the roaring sea, the shapes and the shadows. I adore it!

.

DSC_0573

.

Fortezza Nuova, which of course isn’t very new at all, and the odd looking Santa Caterina church. The canals and bridges formed an interesting pattern, and I  found it quite easy to get lost,  but then just as easy to get unlost again!

.

DSC_0718

.

Livorno is full of beauty, even if it may not be as obvious to some as the beauty of Florence.

.

DSC_0853

.

The Terrazza again. A magical place.

.

DSC_0705

.

Villas like these two beauties in an almost surreal architectural form, line the waterfront south of the city. Disneyland? Fairytale? Or just wonderful?

.

DSC_0440

.

Other gems are forgotten, overgrown and decayed beyond salvation, like this art nouveau style luxury spa. How very sad.

.

DSC_0782

.

To reach this place you need to go on a hundred year old funicular, unbelievably high up on a hill. I’ll show you the stunning views in another post.

.

DSC_0871

.

I loved everything about Livorno. And I’ll return to these photos many times to show you all of this and more, in detail. But what I kept coming back to, and which blew my mind everytime, was the sea. Here the sunset from the roof terrace swimming pool at the hotel. Need I say it was breathtaking?

.

18 comments on “Eight out of a thousand

  1. K says:

    Breathtaking indeed. Thanks for sharing the beauty.

  2. bastuba says:

    Your photos are absolutely stunning!

  3. VP says:

    So you did it! Brava! Your pictures are very good and I imagine you have so many more… I hope everything was fine and you was able to enjoy my hometown!

    • CS says:

      Dear VP, thank you for you kind words! Yes, I really loved Livorno and can’t wait to go back, hopefully for a week or so. Sorry there was no time to contact you, time just flew! But maybe next time? Yes, I have so many photos and I’ll be writing lots of more post on your lovely hometown. As I will continue to follow your blog of course. See you!

      • VP says:

        Don’t worry about the ‘meeting’, we are leaving tomorrow and I had some hectic days last week! I just added Florensic to the page of our friends on LDP and in future I will post links to your Livorno-related posts.

  4. imponerad says:

    Sicket ställe – havet!
    Och borgar är ju aldrig fel.

  5. Jack says:

    I came here by means of a link from VP’s blog. Your Livorno photos are gorgeous. And, I love Florence and have visited several times. Gee, I certainly don’t need any more photo blogs to follow, but I expect to visit you from time to time.

  6. Dina says:

    Shalom Catharina. I “know” Livorno from VP’s blog, but I love the way you gush about the city! From your photos I can certainly understand why.

    • CS says:

      Ciao Dina! Thank you and welcome! Yes, in fact I loved it so much that I am no dreaming about living there… Well, one can dream…😉

  7. Sartenada says:

    Terrific photos.

  8. Luciano Donzella says:

    Great work, it looks like you love Livorno more than me. And i love a lot my town- A sensitive and delicate eye that capture the soul of the town, in a technically perfect way. The result is a love message for Livorno show all around the world. Thank you very much.
    Best regards
    Luciano Donzella
    Journalist of “Il Tirreno” (fron Livorno, of course)😉

What do you think?

